incredible-marketing Arrow

What’s the Grieving Process?

Grief is a heavy emotion to handle.  No one should try to tackle the process alone.  Support from family and friends can help an individual face the difficult times.  Unresolved grief is when the feeling is not cared for properly. Trying to manage the day to day life with unresolved grief can impair someone’s ability to function.  An individual will allow pain to take control. Masking the emotions with drugs or alcohol is a negative way of coping with grief. Mental disorders and depression will also make grieving more difficult.  When depression or addiction is involved with grief, treatment is the best option to get through the process.

Everyone handles grief differently.  Some will go through the steps faster than others.  People with heavier hearts can need extra time to process the loss.  Guidelines for dealing with grief can happen in various ways. Each stage of the grieving process could be in a different order or repeated, depending on the needs of the individual.  Going through the process will aid an individual to avoid drug and alcohol use or relapse.

7 Guidelines for Grieving

  • Shock and denial
  • Pain and guilt
  • Anger and bargaining
  • Depression, reflection, and loneliness
  • The upward turn
  • Reconstruction and working through
  • Acceptance and hope

The most common reason for grieving is the loss of a loved one.  Death is not the only cause of grief. More simple events can also produce the feeling.  A change in job, change in housing, graduation from school, and a break up are other examples.  The removal or change of someone’s life can onset grief. Illness or losing a physical ability can also change someone’s emotions.  The individual can determine the severity of grief by analyzing the event and examining themselves. Reactions to each stage can be recognized.  Maintaining emotional control and understanding what step of the grieving process is present will aid in relief.

Having guidance from a counselor or therapist will help the individual understand the 7 stages grief.  Talking through the process helps working out emotions. Avoiding substance abuse and depression is vital.  When tragedy takes place, the importance of reaching out gives the individual an opportunity to handle the emotions and avoid negative coping mechanisms.  Support is available for everyone. Use the resources when offered to move forward after a tragic event.  

We’re cultivating resilience for lasting wellness. Resilient House offers the highest quality behavioral health treatment to help heal addictions. Bringing together spiritual guides and holistic experts with trained clinicians, our programs are changing lives. Call us today for information: 833-change1 (833-242-6431).